New Japan Cup

The following is results from first-round and quarter-final action in the 2018 New Japan Cup tournament that began on March 9.

First Round

* Hiroshi Tanahashi def. Taichi
* Michael Elgin def. Tomohiro Ishii
* Juice Robinson def. Yujiro Takahashi
* Bad Luck Fale def. Lance Archer
* SANADA def. Chuckie T
* Toru Yano def. Davey Boy Smith Jr.
* Kota Ibushi def. YOSHI-HASHI
* Zack Sabre Jr. def. Tetsuya Naito


* Hiroshi Tanahashi def. Bad Luck Fale
* Juice Robinson def. Michael Elgin
* SANADA def. Toru Yano
* Zack Sabre Jr. def. Kota Ibushi

Tanahashi vs. Robinson in the first semi-final takes place on Friday, while Sabre Jr. vs. SANADA takes place on Sunday. The winners meet in the Finals on March 21st, all airing live on New Japan World. The winner will get a IWGP Title shot of his choosing at Sakuru Genesis at Sumo Hall in Tokyo on April 1st.